Retro Glam…orous

The start of today’s blog is going to be my un-boxing, or un-bagging in this case, of my first purchase from a Canadian online clothing store called Retro Glam. They are similar to Modcloth and Pin Up Girl Clothing but they don’t have as much inventory. But if you live in Canada and get lucky to find something great, and in my case, on sale, then it’s great because shipping is cheap and there’s no exchange rate!

The package came in the usual mail bag since it was just one item. No box needed.

20160115_115856

The wrapping was so cute! A lot of places just throw the item in a bag with a receipt but my item came wrapped up in pretty purple paper with a little pocket at the front for the receipt and a little note.

The note is such a cute touch, letting me know who wrapped my item.

20160115_120004

Now onto the item…

…it’s a DRESS, of course!

highway-dress

It’s the Hit the Road dress by Folter (sold out on retro glam as I got the last one lol) I love this quirky dress because of it’s kitchiness. It’s an American print with cars, American flags, road signs, restaurant signs, and motorcycles. I feel like I need to wear this the next time I watch a Fast and the Furious movie lol. The material isn’t too thick or too thin and it’s got pockets!!! I ordered a medium but at first glance, it looks large. It may actually fit me right now, which is great because I can always get it taken in when I lose the rest of the weight. I’ll definitely wear it sometime next week if it fits! And for anyone wondering how long it took to ship from Edmonton to Stoney Creek, it was 5 days. Not too bad for regular shipping.

Onto the OOTD. I wasn’t expecting to have an outfit blog today but I threw this together quickly and took pictures in 5 minutes lol. I was in an 80’s mood today, which shows with my makeup more than my outfit. Casual Friday means JEANS! I decided to wear some dark blue skinny jeans to look a little more dressy. On top I decided to wear a black tank top with a flowy polka dot shirt I bought at H&M a long time ago. On top of that I wore my Charter School Cardigan in Royal Blue from Modcloth and a faux pearl necklace. I finished off the look with a pair of JustFab boots.

For my hair I decided to go with a thick polka dot head band and for make up I wore my Cynthia Rowley Liquid Liner in Cobalt and on my lips today I’m wearing  All Fired Up lipstick by MAC and Trust In Red liner by MAC. This lipstick colour is a Retro Matt which means it’s a little dry so it’s always best to have moisterized lips before applying it. I always use MAC Prep & Prime Lip everyday before applying my lipstick. It helps the lipstick glide on smoother and helps keep it long lasting all day.

20160115_113919

And there you have it! A little 80’s inspired look to send off the week :).

Leave a Reply

