Daily Beauty Routine

I don’t love my outfit today so I figured that today is a good day to do my skin care and daily makeup routine blog.

In the morning I usually start by using my Ginseng toner from Carol Baker Visage. I bought this a few years back when I got a free facial done at Visage and was advised that this was a good product for my skin. I’m going to be honest here, I used it a lot when I got it and then stopped using it because I was trying to shorten my time getting ready in the morning. I’ve gotten back into using it again because it really does make a difference in the way my skin looks. Toners help to even out skin tone and this one helps to neutralize oily skin as well, which is a main issue for me.

After my toner I usually go right into my moisterizer but on some days when I feel like my skin needs extra help, I also use Paula’s Choice Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid Exfoliant and 100% Pure Organic Coffee Bean Caffeine Eye Cream. Both of these items I received as samples from my Birchbox subscriptions in September and November. I will do a specific blog about what Birchbox is when I review my December Birchbox in the upcoming weeks. I haven’t really noticed too much of a difference in my skin when I use the Skin Perfecting Liquid but that may be because I don’t use it enough, so at this point, I can’t really recommend it. I do recommend the 100% Pure eye cream though. I use it when my eyes get extra dark and puffy. Not only does it work really well, but it smells like coffee so it’s a nice wake up in the mornings.

20151202_052318

Next I use my Olay CC Cream Moisterizer in Light to Medium. I love this because it has a subtle tint that really helps brighten up the skin. I also use other Olay products at night which I’ll discuss at the end of this post.

A_00075609190346_D1C0_US.png

Now onto the makeup primers! I use 3 primers on my skin before I put my makeup on. All of my primers are by MAC. First I use Prep and Prime Natural Radiance all over my face. This stuff is GOLD. Is it specifically or oily/combination skin and it really keeps my makeup on all day. Next I use Prep and Prime 24 Hour Extend Eye Base on my eye lids. This has been a real saving grace for my eye makeup because I have the most oily eyelids in the universe. Without this, any eye liner or eye shadow just will not stay on my lids. Lastly I use Prep and Prime Lip on my lips. As I stated in yesterday’s blog, this helps to moisturize the lips and keeps lipstick lasting all day.

Once I’m all prepped and primed, I move onto my makeup. I always start with MAC Pro Longwear Concealer in  NC25. I use this under my eyes to cover any dark circles and on any red marks on my skin from blemishes. This stuff is fantastic and I highly recommend this. Next I use MAC’s Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15 in NC30. Not only is it incredibly light weight, while still providing great coverage, it also has an SPF 15 which is excellent because we all need a little help in the sun protection department. On the days I wear lipstick, I also put this on my lips to help with neutralizing my lip colour since I over line my lips. To apply both my concealer and foundation I use the Beauty Blender. It is pricey but very worth it because it blends makeup very well and it doesn’t suck makeup into itself if you use it properly. For blush I just use a basic blush brush. I eventually want to get a proper brush set though when I have the money.

20151202_05182420151202_052043

If my skin is extra oily I will use MAC’s Blot Powder in Dark. I bought this stuff for my wedding because I didn’t want to look oily in pictures. It does the trick but it does make my face look a little more matte than I sometimes like so I don’t use it unless I really need it. All of these makeup items are not used every day. I don’t usually need any of this stuff in the summer because I usually have a healthy tan and don’t need to fix anything. These items are definitely used more in the colder months and I usually only wear them when going to work or going out somewhere. I’m perfectly fine being seen without makeup on casual Saturdays at work, at the gym, grocery shopping, etc…Remember that makeup should never be used to hide who you are, it should be used to enhance the beauty you already have and help out those flaws.

20151202_051911

My everyday makeup routine also usually includes blush, liquid liner, mascara, and eyebrow pencil. The blush I use is MAC’s Mineralize Blush in Warm Soul. I was recommended this blush and colour by one of the sales girls at the MAC store at Limeridge Mall for 2 reasons. One being that it is a mineral blush which is great for oily skin and the second because the Warm Soul colour works on all skin colours and with all makeup colours and shades. It’s definitely the best blush I’ve ever used.

20151202_051649

Next I use Visage Brow Blender Pencil in Dark Taupe for my eyebrows. My eyebrows are very thin and sparse so I hate them. My sister did my eyebrows once when I was in high school and she made them super thin, which was the style at the time, and they have never been able to grow back. So I just colour them in to make them look thicker and more substantial. It has taken many years to finally perfect the shape and style I like.

I then move on to Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper for a winged cat eye. I used to use khol liners for the majority of my life and just lined the inside lid but a few years ago I started getting into using liquid liners on my top lid. Until recently, I didn’t know how to do a proper cat eye so I would just line the lid. I also had issues finding a good liner that would actually be a nice thick black colour because of my oily skin. Then I finally found Kat’s Tattoo liner and looked up how to do a proper cat eye and I’ve never looked back. Luckily it’s pretty easy for me to do the cat eye with a steady hand. One day I’ll do a cat eye tutorial on here.

20151202_051620.jpg

Finally I finish off with good old mascara. Like with my liquid liner, I’ve been in search for a really good mascara for a long time. I used to use Clump Crusher by Cover Girl and it was good, but it still didn’t give me the length I wanted. I did a lot of research and found that a lot of people really like Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes by Tarte mascara so I picked it up. At first I wasn’t sure about it but now I love it! It’s the first time I’ve really noticed a difference in the length of my lashes with a mascara. A few months back I got a great gift from Sephora when I redeemed 500 point from my points card, which was a box from Tarte with a bunch of products. In it, Opening Act Lash Primer was included so I use that before my mascara, I do notice that it helps the mascara grab onto the lashes a lot better. You don’t need a mascara primer but hey, I got it for free, so why not use it, right?!

20151202_051556

After all of this I will usually do a lip gloss in the summer and I have been getting into lipstick a lot so these days I will wear lipstick. I prefer MAC lipsticks and liners because the colours are very rich and the colour lasts all day. I have fairly thin lips so I always over line my lips to make them look larger. I will try to do a tutorial soon. I love reds, berries, dark pinks like fuchsia, and nude colours. I use all formulations but prefer satins because of the look and feel. One day I will go through all my lipsticks and do swatches of them all.

Ok so that’s my morning routine. My nighttime routine is much easier. After after my son, I’ve been lazy with my nighttime routine but this is what I usually do. I always remove my makeup with a cleansing cloth. I don’t have a favourite. I grab whatever one is on sale when I need them. I usually stick with Biore or Garnier but I’ve also used Olay and Neutragena. Removing your makeup before bed is a MUST and you all should do this if it’s the only thing you do at night. Makeup cloths are the easiest way to do it. If I’m not super lazy, I will then use Olay Total Effects Foaming Cleanser to clean my face. Then I will use Olay Total Effects Tone Correcting Night Moisterizer and Olay Total Effects Eye Brightening CC Cream. The only thing that sucks about the eye cream is that it is tinted. It’s supposed to be used during the day but I prefer it at night.

Ok so that’s it! That was a long post but I hope it helps anyone out who needs to change up their routine or wants to try new products.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

